LEAF Link takes your privacy very seriously. This document explains how LEAF Link uses and safeguards your personal data and that of your contacts.
If you choose to allow it, LEAF Link will send your contacts' addresses to Google in order to obtain their locations on the map. The information sent to Google is limited to:
- Street address
- Zip or postal code
No personally identifying information, including names, phone numbers, email addresses, or other information will be sent.
If you do not wish to send this information to Google, go to the Settings & Info screen and turn off the "Get Contact Locations" preference.
LEAF Link uses your location for three purposes:
- To set the initial region of the map
- To search for nearby places when searching Google. Your location will be sent anonymously to Google, with no other identifying information.
- You can use the Search function to select the special item Current Location which fills in the latitude and longitude of your current position. If you send this item to your LEAF's navigation system, the title and location displayed will be sent securely to the LEAF Link server.
If you do not want LEAF Link to use your location, go to the Settings app and turn off Location Services for LEAF Link.
When you send a place or destination to your LEAF's navigation system, the information displayed will be sent to and stored on the LEAF Link server at leaflinkapp.com.
- The information is always sent to leaflinkapp.com via a secure, encrypted connection.
LEAF Link communicates with Nissan's CARWINGS service to get your LEAF's current status and send commands such as Start Charging and climate control commands.
- All communication with CARWINGS is done over a secure connection.
- If you choose to allow it, LEAF Link will save your CARWINGS username and password on your device, storing them securely using encryption.
Because CARWINGS does not directly support setting charge timers, LEAF Link uses the server at leaflinkapp.com to provide this feature.
- When you set a Charge Timer, your CARWINGS username and password are securely sent to leaflinkapp.com.
- The leaflinkapp.com server uses strong encryption to securely store your CARWINGS username and password. They are never stored in plain text.
- At the scheduled time, the leaflinkapp.com server will login to CARWINGS using your username and password, then send the Start Charging command. Your iOS device does not need to be on or running LEAF Link at this time.
- As soon as the command is sent, your encrypted CARWINGS username and password are permanently deleted from the leaflinkapp.com server.